iCompta Suggestions

Discussions about iCompta on macOS
adrianwi

iCompta Suggestions

Post by adrianwi »

I've been using iCompta for a few months now and have a number of suggestions to improve the way the product would work for me, and I expect many other users.

Historically I used Microsoft Money for several years, but when I decided to get a Mac this became a frustrating option using either Bootcamp or Parallel/Fusion sessions. This was one of the last pieces of software to allow me to work entirely in OSX and remove the need for a Windows environment, and although it is doing a job, is missing some basis functionality from the windows application.

1. better links between accounts for transfer transactions, so that when a transfer is created and then amended, it updates both sides of the transaction. Also don't think recurring transfers (i.e. monthly) work as they don't create both transactions, unless I am doing something wrong!
2. a display to show all recurring transactions would be fantastic, so I can see all upcoming transactions from multiple accounts in one place. Money did this as a simple list showing the date of the next payment until it is added to the account, when the next is displayed (i.e. next month, quarter, year, etc.)
3. when entering a new transaction, the 1st item in the General section is user definable, however, I have created a number of entries in here that I want to now remove. I can't find anywhere where these could be edited, which would be really useful. Perhaps adding to the section where Types and Currencies are amended?
4. would also be good if you could edit the Transaction Types (i.e. credit cards, cash, etc.) so I can add things like Paypal, Debit Card, etc.