Importing transactions and multiple accounts

Discussions about iCompta on macOS
rabello

Importing transactions and multiple accounts

Post by rabello »

Hello,

I'm new to iCompta and I have a migration problem. I'm trying to migrate from kmymoney. This program can export a single account as a "QIF" file which iCompta reads without problems.

My problem is that I have multiple accounts on my old program and I can only export one account at a time. This results in money transfers between accounts not to be taken into account properly by iCompta.

Example: I have account1.qif and account2.qif

Between account1 and account2 I have money transfers.

If I import account1.qif into "account1" at iCompta, my transfers show up as categories marked like "[account2]".

Is there a way to circumvent my problem? I.e. some clever way by which iCompta will understand that "[account2]" in the file account1.qif actually is an account name instead of another category with a funny name?

I tried fiddling with rules, but none of those allow me to transform the transaction into a proper transfer. I.e., I can mark the transaction as a transfer, but I would not see the money coming out of "account2" in this case...

Many thanks for any tip,

André
Angeman
Administrateur

Re: Importing transactions and multiple accounts

Post by Angeman »

You can't do it automatically, you have to remove the [account2] category manually afterwards. You can delete it in the categories window, it will be removed from all transactions at once this way.
rabello

Post by rabello »

Well, I do not want it removed. I just want that "account2" looks like a proper account. We have a few hundred transactions like this. Is there a way in which I can transform a category into an account? Thanks for the help, André
Angeman
Administrateur

Post by Angeman »

You can't do it in current version sorry.
rabello

Post by rabello »

Thanks for this information.