Year-end backup/copy

Discussions about iCompta on macOS
Post Reply
zh_olga
Posts: 21
Joined: 19 November 2013, 21:48

Year-end backup/copy

Post by zh_olga » 26 December 2016, 00:38

Hi there
How can I make the year-end backup copy of my icompta file?
Any ideas?

User avatar
Angeman
Administrateur
Posts: 1805
Joined: 28 December 2008, 21:28
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Re: Year-end backup/copy

Post by Angeman » 26 December 2016, 10:34

Just copy the accounts file on an external hard drive for example.

Torakikiii
Posts: 77
Joined: 05 February 2011, 10:14

Re: Year-end backup/copy

Post by Torakikiii » 14 January 2017, 14:06

Wouldn't it be cool if you could add some kind of archiving of old data?
I have data going back to 2010. I keep it because from time to time I like to have a look at how things has changed during the years.

Do I spend more on bills now? how much did my leisure budget vary through years? How much did I spend for the new car 2 years ago?

At the moment I used a saved filter (by date) and I visually exclude all the data dating before the current year... but it's still there.
Not in my first positions of my Wishlist for icompta but still it could be useful.

P.s. I have tons of transactions and the app is rocking through it, I'm quite happy!

Cheers.

User avatar
Angeman
Administrateur
Posts: 1805
Joined: 28 December 2008, 21:28
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Re: Year-end backup/copy

Post by Angeman » 14 January 2017, 17:53

Torakikiii wrote:Do I spend more on bills now? how much did my leisure budget vary through years? How much did I spend for the new car 2 years ago?
Exactly, that's why it's easier to keep all data in the same file, there is no real need to archive old data unless the file is really really big.

zh_olga
Posts: 21
Joined: 19 November 2013, 21:48

Re: Year-end backup/copy

Post by zh_olga » 27 August 2017, 14:35

I agree that you want all the data in the same file, but wouldn't it be easier to have an option to turn on / off data from a certain year. For example now I need to analyze only 2016, why do I need to scroll through or manually exclude all the transactions from 2015 and 2017 while doing analysis?

Also there could have been mistakes in those years, which get in my way while analyzing 2016 for example.

User avatar
Angeman
Administrateur
Posts: 1805
Joined: 28 December 2008, 21:28
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Re: Year-end backup/copy

Post by Angeman » 27 August 2017, 15:13

You can easily filter data with a start date and an end date in the transactions list or in reports.

zh_olga
Posts: 21
Joined: 19 November 2013, 21:48

Re: Year-end backup/copy

Post by zh_olga » 27 August 2017, 16:22

THank you
I can see where I choose the start date, but I can't see where I can input the end date for a report.
Please help

User avatar
Angeman
Administrateur
Posts: 1805
Joined: 28 December 2008, 21:28
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Re: Year-end backup/copy

Post by Angeman » 27 August 2017, 16:30

You have to add a "The date is before XXX" condition in the transactions filter.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests